Illogicon 2017 Author Readings

Share: Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrShare on RedditEmail this to someone

I volunteered to record the author readings at Illogicon 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed the variety of material read over the course of the weekend. You can watch the entire playlist of the Illogicon YouTube Channel or watch individual videos here.

— Calvin

Daniel José Older

Daniel José Older “writes a urban fantasy and talks a lot of trash online.” He writes two series, The Shadowshaper series which is young adult urban fantasy and the Bone Street Rumba series which is an adult urban fantasy. Both series are set in the same universe, which Older describes as a “magical freaky Brooklyn.”

Daniel José Older reads from Battle Hill Bolero, which is the third book in the Bone Street Rumba series and answers questions from the audience.

Mur Lafferty

Mur Lafferty won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2013 for “1963: The Argument Against Louis Pasteur.” Her series The Shambling Guides won the 2014 & 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award.

Mur Lafferty reads from “Voice Of The Empire,” her short story from The Star Wars Insider #170.

Gail Z. Martin

Gail Z Martin writes several series including The Ascendant Kingdoms SagaChronicles of the NecromancerThe Fallen Kings CycleDeadly Curiosities, and the Jake Desmet Adventures.

Gail Z Martin reads an excerpt from “Death Match,” a short story from the The Ascendant Kingdoms Saga; an excerpt from “Shadow Garden,” a story in the Deadly Curiosities Adventures, an excerpt from “Resurrection Day,“a story from the Storm & Fury stories from the Jake Desemet Adventures; and excerpt from Arctic Prison one of The King’s Convicts novellas in The Ascendant Kingdoms Saga, an excerpt from “The Patented Troll” from the Gaslight & Grimm Anthology; and an excerpt from “The Breaking Point” from the Heroes Anthology.

Gray Rinehart

Gray Rinehart has numerous short fiction, filk,  and essay credits to his name and his novel Walking On The Sea Of Clouds is forthcoming on WordFire Press.

Gray Rinehart plays a fan filk favorite, “Romulan Ale” and reads an excerpt from his upcoming novel, Walking On The Sea Of Clouds.

James Maxey

James Maxey has authored about a dozen novels including The Bitterwood Series, The Dragon Apocalypse Series, and Nobody Gets The Girl. He is the 2015 Piedmont Laureate.

James Maxey reads from Cipher,  the latest book in the Dragon Apocalypse series.

Tera Fulbright

Tera Fulbright is an author and convention runner.

Tera Fulbright reads from her story “Jump Back Into The Night” from A Bard Day’s Night, from the Tales Of Fortannis series.

Richard Butner

Richard Butner writes short fiction and plays and runs the Sycamore Hill Writers Workshop.

Richard Butner reads his newest story, “The Ornithopter.”

Suzanne Adair

Suzanne Adair is the author of the Michael Stoddard American Revolution Mystery series and the Mysteries of the American Revolution series.

Suzanne Adair reads excerpts from the first three books in the Michael Stoddard American Revolution Mystery series.

Natania Barron

Natania Barron is the author of Pilgrim Of The Sky and Geek Mom.

Natania Barron reads from her forthcoming novella, Wothwood.

Fraser Sherman

Fraser Sherman is a speculative fiction writer working mostly in historical fantasy. He is also the author of multiple reference books including, Now And Then We Time Travel and a James Bond reference, Sex For Dinner, Death For Breakfast.

Fraser Sherman reads from his short story, “The Wodehouse Murder Case.”

Richard Dansky

Richard Dansky is a video game author and writer of novels including Vaporware and Firefly Rain.

Richard Dansky reads his story, “about the fabled Trashquatch, of Staten Island.”

Darin Kennedy

Darin Kennedy is the short fiction writer and author novels such as The Mussorgsky Riddle  and Pawn’s Gambit.

Darin reads and excerpt from The Pawn’s Gambit.

Michael G. Williams

Michael G. Williams is a novelist, short story writer and game designer. He worked on Wraith: The Oblivion and is the author of The Withrow Chronicles.

Michael G. Williams reads from his story “Caregiver” from the upcoming anthology, Reality Breaks. He also reads from the beginning of his “Machine Of Death” story. He also reads an excerpt from Tooth And Nail, one of The Withrow Chronicles and an excerpt from his “far future detective novel.”

Betty Cross

Betty Cross is the author of Discarded Faces.

Betty Cross reads from the upcoming novel, Dispelled Illusions.

Erin & Deek Rhew

Erin Rhew is the author of The Fulfillment Series, of novels Deek Rhew is the author of 122 Rules.

Erin Rhew reads from The Prophecy, one of the novels in The Fulfillment series. Deek Rhew reads from 122 Rules.

Short URL for this page: